The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more. Discuss possible ways to encourage the use of public transport.

In a world of increasing environmental awareness improved public transport represents the way of the future. Although people do enjoy the convenience and privacy of traveling in their own private vehicles, in my opinion they may choose public transport if it fulfills certain conditions. These conditions fall into three broad categories: attitudinal, financial and logistical.

From an attitudinal perspective, people must first be convinced of the benefits of public transportation. An educational or public relations campaign must be launched to sensitize those who might have disregarded this possibility before. People should be familiarized with the environmental, social and personal benefits for present and future generations. This is one step.

From a financial perspective, public transportation must be a clear and viable benefit to consumers. In other words, it must be more affordable than driving to work every day. For example, if people know that by using bus and subway, they can save enough money to take a free holiday each year, many more individuals would be persuaded to travel in this way. This is another critical step.

From a logistical perspective, public transportation should be convenient for commuters. City planners and transport officials must ensure that frequent and reliable public transportation is available for each citizen. For people to make the habit of traveling by bus or subway, they must know that they will be able to get to various places on time. Transport vehicles must be well maintained, subway and bus drivers should be customer-oriented and service must be punctual and efficient. This is an additional important step.

In conclusion, through a multi-pronged approach, it is possible to increase the use of public transportation. City officials and politicians can lead the way by utilizing these forms of transport themselves and bringing about change through personal example. Then, more citizens will follow suit and we may all hope to live in a cleaner, less polluted environment.