road or railwa?

When it is time for allocation of budget for transportation sector in a country, the debate over which type of infrastructure should be given more priority takes place between the citizens. Some believe that govenment should fund road but others believe that railway should be given more funding. However, Instead of choosing categorically one of the two as "best" option, in my veiw, choice of mode of transport which country should spend is contingent upon two factors: financial and topographic factors.

One of the factors determining the type of transportation infrastructure to be built by a government is financial and economic status of any country. In other words, economic status of govenment and its public will largely affect which mode of travel should a govenment prioritize. As cost involved in construction of railway project is exorbitantly high as compared to road, country which can manage larger financial budget for transportation sector can opt railway project; however, in nation with poor financial background, road project are generally feasible. For instance, in developed countries such as UK and USA, huge amount of funds are allocated for development project due to which large sum of money are prioritized towards building expensive subway in cities and towns. On the other hand, in poor country like Nepal, government cannot afford to spend large amount in transportation sector so road transportation is more preferred by the government. Hence, before deciding whether a government must go for road or railway, we must find out financial capabilities of a nation.

In addition to financial factors, geographical and topographical factors also play major role in deciding whether a country must focus on road or railways. Roads are technically viable in both plain and mountaineos region whereas railways mostly require flat surface for constructions and operations. So country having favourable topographic condition (plain region) can prioritize both roads and railway projects; while, for country which have most of the areas in higher altitude can only have option of road. So,choice of prioritizing any one of the two modes of transportation greatly depends upon topographic features of the country.

In conclusion, the subject matter is moot and there are no easy answers as appropriate choice for funding for either roads or railways depends upon financial and topographic features of nation.