The sale and use of hard drugs are prohibited in many countries, but tobacco and alcohol are sold and consumed. Governments should apply laws that prohibit the sale and use of hard drugs to all drugs, including tobacco and alcohol.

What is your opinion?

Looking from a socioeconomic perspective, while people in many countries have applauded governmental policies on banning the use of hard drugs, some still think that tobacco and alcohol should not be left out since they share comparable detrimental impacts. Personally, I firmly agree that there should be detailed legislative documents on the prohibition of tobacco and alcoholic products to gauge public well-being.

Despite limited scientific reports on direct associations between tobacco and tragic deaths, long-term use of this addictive product might result in unimaginable consequences. Heavy smokers are susceptible to a variety of health risks, including lung cancer and other cardiovascular problems, and illustrations in an effort of propagating these deadly threats can be easily found in every corner of the world. However, the number of smokers has shown no sign of decline and if there are no actions taken, humankind can expect to have a future generation of descendants covered in smog. This is not to mention the profound impacts that tobacco can exert on the social economy. In many countries, tobacco and other smoking-related products are heavily taxed by the government in an attempt to reduce smoking behaviours. Unexpectedly, such a heavy taxation seems to do more harm than good as it makes the price of tobacco escalate and smokers are still willing to pay a fortune to ease their addiction. This has accidentally resulted in more financial burdens for families as there will be additional costs in their monthly budget.

Comparatively, alcoholic products have been listed in the prohibition list proposed to many governments around the world but this international effort still remains in vain. It is universally reported that a vast number of traffic accidents were caused by drunken drivers. Unlike in the past when people simply consumed alcohol in celebration of special occasions, stressful ways of living teeming with countless workloads and technological advancements in the twenty-first century have propelled people to seek alcoholic products as an escape. The biochemical influences of alcohol will make people lose their consciousness and control of their body, leading to tragic road accidents. In addition, just like tobacco, alcohol is heavily taxed and eventually becomes an unaffordable product for low-income families. Consequently, a high market demand followed by gigantic profits will encourage unethical acts interfering with this highly profitable market, leading to the emergence of black markets where beers and wines are smuggled and sold at a much more affordable price.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that governmental actions in preventing and eliminating the dissemination of tobacco and alcohol are essential. Without these, the society very soon will be flooded with abusive smoking and drinking behaviours.