School should focus more on teaching students how to be successful in the workforce and less on helping them achieve academic success. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the education field, it is thought that emphasis should be laid upon teaching career-related skills for success rather than improving students’ academic performances. While I recognize the role of success oriented lessons, I believe that student’s academic achievements should be attached more importance to.

To certain extent, success oriented courses are necessary. Such courses, including vocational training not only play a role in enhancing practical skills such as crafting and cooking, but also teach students to apply theoretical knowledge to real-life situations, which are not taught in textbooks. Therefore, these courses contribute to a student’s occupational competency and psychologically better prepare him for a highly competitive labor market.

However, I think this is the time when students need to absorb knowledge and discover a suitable career, rather than knowing how to be successful in the labor market. Students should pay attention to academic learning, for the subjects from the syllabus lay a solid foundation for their knowledge in various aspects, from science to literature. Through advancing academic performances, students would enhance such soft skills as communication skills and managerial skills, which are necessary for daily situations and even future jobs. Moreover, the learning process provides an opportunity for pupils to identify their strengths in certain fields, and therefore exerts an influence on their career path’s decision. For example, those who show passion for maths and physics would pursue a career related to science. Additionally, when hiring employees, recruiters may considered an applicant’s academic background as a factor to evaluate his competence.

In conclusion, I believe focusing on academic performances is more beneficial than preparing for success in the future career.