School should not force children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a school of thought holds that foreign linguistic lessons should not be compulsory at schools or similar academic environments. Personally, I completely disapprove this statement and my opinion will be elaborated with the following reasons.

First and foremost, knowing a foreign language is an effortless way for students to get access to other cultures. To fully master a language, people have to learn about its background as well and it acts as a precursor to broaden our knowledge. Example includes some English idioms that require students to reach a certain level of understanding the traditions so as to practically apply them in life.

Furthermore, second languages are essential nowadays since the global are becoming integrated and cosmopolitan. As the collaboration between nations is vital, it leads to the high demand for interpreters, who play a partly important role in developing a country. To be more specific, should a country use only their mother tongue, they would lose their chances to strengthen the nation in all aspects, namely economy and education and soon be isolated.

In addition, foreign language learners have more advantages than who do not since a required level of linguistic proficiency is a mandatory condition to get into top- ranking institutes. Using language certification to apply for higher education is an ultimate way thanks to the better chances it brings. For example, the majority of universities in Vietnam use the IELTS exam, combined with other requirements to assess as the standard scores are getting higher and higher over time and it might be no longer used in the long term.

In conclusion, it is evident that having known a second language brings numerous merits to students. Therefore, pupils should learn them as an obligatory subject.