Schools should not force children to learn a foreign language To what estent do you agree with this statement

With regard to teaching program in many schools around the world, it is often believed that foreign language subject should be compulsory for students of any age. In this essay, I would like to examine this viewpoint and provide my personal conclusion.

To begin with, it is a matter of fact that learning new language requires students to remember and understand a various of vocabulary, grammars and sentence structures in both general and academic types. As a result, if foreign language subject could be compulsory for students, it could give them a great opportunity to develop their ability of remembering in a better way which can be used in other subjects such as mathematics and chemistry.

Secondly, it is also true that international languages such as English and Chinese play an important role in shaping our future lives. To be more specific, those languages are essential not only for students who want to apply for a university scholarship to study abroad, but also for many adults who usually use international languages in order to communicate and negotiate with their foreign clients, sponsors and partners. Moreover, learning another language certainly can allow people to approach to different culture in different countries, which is necessary for everyone to broaden their professional knowledge.

However, it should also be borne in mind that each student has different ability to learn how to read, listen, write and speak foreign languages fluently. For example, some students can be easily excel in studying Chinese while the others have struggled to grade high scores in this subject. Therefore, forcing students to learn one foreign language at school without teaching them the relevance of this compulsory subject to their present and future lives, can reduce the motivation of approaching new language of many students .

In conclusion, I personally believe that although an international language like English subject should be compulsory, students should be taught about the importance of learning this subject and also given some optional choices of what kind of language they want to study.