Learning a foreign language are becoming more beneficial to students. It is argued that whether children should be required to learn another language in school. In my opinion, albeit its acknowledged benefits of this trend, I believe that it is no more plausible than giving children the freedom to learn a foreign language in terms of burden on children studying and the insufficiency of teachers who are well-equipped with foreign language.

Firstly, compelling children to learn a foreign language might be counterproductive because of children overpressure. Youngsters these days have learnt various fundamental subjects, and obliging them to learn a foreign language might increase the study burden of children. This is result in eliminating the quality of learning other important subjects. For example, forcing primary pupils to learn English would not only deliver confusion but also waste time and delay the development of mother tongue.

Furthermore, the shortages of good foreign language teacher does not allow school to force children learning English. Unlike other research-related subjects, an achievable teacher needs to update knowledge and practice more, which cost so much and then might not obtain in some poor countries. If children are not motivated by a successful teacher, they might find it sophisticated to become a bilingual in their lives. For instance, because of the lack of intensely trained teachers, children from distant area tend to be worse at English than urban peers

All in all, although learning a foreign language has many benefits, I believe that it should be considered as an optional subject, not a compulsory subject for children because of those aforementioned drawbacks.