Schools should not force children to learn a foreign language. To what extent
do you agree or disagree?
In the educational field, people have different views on the question of whether
the foreign language should not be compulsory for children. Personally, while I
tend towards this point of view, I also believe that it should be of great necessity
for students to acquire another language apart from their mother tongue.
On the one hand, there are various compelling reasons why school children do not
need to learn a second language. Firstly, it is non-essential for those who do not
have the needs of fulfilling the expectations of studying abroad. As a consequence,
it may lead to the counter-productivity in their studies when they are given a sense
of compulsion. Another reason is that children may be reluctant in learning
without full awareness of the relevance of obligatory school subjects to their
presents and future lives. This situation, therefore, may turn into depression,
which has an adverse impact on their psychological health.
On the other hand, I believe that learning a new language plays a crucial role in
children’s lives. In my opinion, those who begin to learn a foreign language in
primary school are usually able to have a good grasp of the new language quickly.
Consequently, they rarely find themselves out of their depth. Furthermore,
bilingual students are believed to have an advantage over others who only know
how to use one language. Specifically, they may have greater learning capability
for other disciplines as well.
In conclusion, while it can be unnecessary for children to learn a second language,
it seems to me that acquiring a new language should be given a high priority and
be advisable for students to make the grade in their studies.