As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Money making has always been the main focus to the businessman, however, in addition to making profit by doing business, they also have social duties to perform. I completely agree with the idea that businesses should do more for the betterment of the society.

It needs a huge amount of investment to open a business and requires a lot of money as overhead cost during operation. This is because, during the startup, it requires to build infrastructure, buy machinery, so, to recover that money and overhead cost which includes wages of the employee, depreciation cost of the machinery, electricity cost, cost of raw material, the owner of the businesses need to make profit. Above discussion illustrates why a business should make profit during its operation.

On the other hand, making money should always not be the only aim of any business. There is a term in the business community which is “social corporate responsibility”. According to this, organizations that make money through business can do a lot to make a better society. For instance, they can create new job openings for the educated jobless youth and elderly people. So that, the youth would get chances to keep them busy in a productive way, and elderly people could earn some money as well. Additionally, owners could adopt environmentally friendly technology which uses renewable energy, which in the long term would reduce pollutions such as air pollution, water pollution by creating a better world to live in.

In conclusion, we can summarize that making money is important for the owner, but,contributing in making a better livable society is far more significant.