The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most
prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English
becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages
and disadvantages of having one language in the world?
It is thought by some people that English, which is now the most widely spoken
language in the world, may one day predominate over all other languages and
result in their eventual disappearance. Having one language would certainly aid
understanding and economic growth but there will also be some drawbacks.
One evident benefit to having one global language is that it would enable greater
understanding between countries. In other words, if everyone spoke one
language, there would be complete understanding between not only countries
but all people throughout the world which would promote learning, the flow of
information and ideas. Another reason that one language would be advantageous
is that it would help economic growth. With all people speaking the same
language, there will be less barriers and therefore trade would flourish between
countries, resulting in a healthier world economy.
On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to having only one global
language. Firstly, it would mean that all other languages would eventually
disappear and, along with them, their cultures. The diversity of cultures is one of
the joys this world has to offer. Each culture is unique with its own way of life and
own perspectives of the world which would all be lost if there were only one
language. Secondly, it would result in the collapse of tourism because there
would be no reason to travel for pleasure if all countries had the same language
and similar cultures. This would devastate many countries economically that rely
on tourism as a source of income.
In conclusion, while there are plus points to having one global language, too much
would be lost as a result. Maintaining local languages and cultures should be
prioritized to ensure a rich world heritage for future generations.