The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world?

It is thought by many people that English which is the most widely spoken globally will predominate over other languages as tourism continues to improve. In other words, it can lead to English becoming the only language as others vanish eventually. While this change can have benefits in terms of easy communication, there are also some drawbacks.

Let’s begin by looking at the advantages. First, using English as a universal language can boost the understanding between not only nations but also individuals. There will be huge benefits for research and the educational field as all books and curriculums are written in English and the translation period can be cut off. Moreover, learning any foreign language requires 3 to 4 years of dedication which is considerably time-consuming. From an economic point of view, trade will be flourished more rapidly and consequently, it can contribute to a healthy world economy.

Turning to the other side, when every human group speaks only English, their native language will disappear along with their local cultures and traditions. Therefore, each place, especially ancient ones, will lose its own character and prestigious history. The diversity of cultures is one of the joys the world offer. There is no point to travel if all destinations have the same customs and language. What I mean by this is that the trend of tourism will also drop drastically. As a result, it will devastate countries that rely on tourism as a major source of income.

All things considered, using a common language strictly has both pros and cons. In a positive view, it is very beneficial for each global community to build trust and share knowledge effortlessly. However, the identity and rituals of each ethnic group are there to be lost. In my opinion, I tend to believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages as we, humans, must protect our own country’s rich cultures at all cost.