It is important for people to take risks, in both their professional lives and personal lives. Do the advantages of taking these risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Taking risks is very decisive in both our professional and personal lives. Although it may hurt a person in the short term, it creates opportunities and I believe the positives of this behavior outweigh any negatives.

Initially, taking risks in our lives can unbalance the stability we have built. What I mean by this is that accepting risks leads to a turning point when we are forced out of our comfort zone. Take a person who has just started in a new profession as he expects better job opportunities for example. He will definitely find difficulties making ends meet, paying for basic needs, and settling in a new working environment at first, which are not concerns for him before. However, I believe these short-term burdens are worthwhile to take in return for better outcomes and benefits in the long run.

On the other hand, accepting risks can foster many positive results. Successful artists, businessmen, and sportsmen will not be at this stage if they played their lives safe instead of challenging themselves. For instance, if Mark Zuckerberg did not leave Harvard, there would be no Facebook, a giant social media platform. Moreover, he would lead a normal life, working as a 9-5 software developer and leaving no mark on the world. Also in our personal lives, we can only improve as an individual through performing risks and making mistakes.

In conclusion, taking risks plays an essential part in our career and personal lives. Despite facing problems temporarily, I think we should practice analyzing the situation and the degrees of damage to accept risks as they can broaden our horizons and lay footsteps to our success.