Many people feel that urban environments are more unhealthy than they have ever been. What do you think are the main causes of this problem? What measures can be effective in tackling this problem?

Nowadays, increasingly more people are not satisfied with urban conditions in different aspects. This situation is the result of various factors and personally, I think responsibilities lie with the governments to find concrete solutions.

The primary cause of unhealthy urban environments is related to immigration to cities for their facilities and living standards. Overpopulation in cities is combined with poor traffic which leads to pollution such as air, noise as well as stress. In this case, cities with insufficient transport infrastructure are likely to suffer the most. In addition, urban dwellers are driving hectic lives because of bad work-life balance and work demands in different competitive industries. Other drawbacks such as increasing crime rates, costs of living, and rental fees involve in the reasons why urban life is no longer considered appealing.

There are a couple of measures governments should take to tackle these problems. Firstly, public services, in particular healthcare, police force, education, and transport, need to be improved to occupy millions of people. Meanwhile, national authorities can reduce the gap between urban and rural areas through equal subsidize so that there will be fewer immigrants to cities and demand for needs in urban facilities. Another action is to encourage companies to keep employees satisfied by promoting work-life balance, giving personal rewards, and arranging social events. Finally, more green spaces such as parks and roof-top gardens can be built to maintain air quality while at the same time helping local residents healthy and active.

In conclusion, the so-called ‘unhealthy urban life’ is caused by problems like inadequate infrastructure and hectic lifestyles. However, fortunately, governments can address this situation by the aforementioned simple long-term planning.