Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this a positive or a negative development?

Some people with health issues today rely on alternative medicines instead of going to the hospital. Personally, I believe it is a negative trend because curing one’s self can be a risky decision.

On the positive side, there are some advantages of using alternative medicines. For example, traditional treatments like herbal remedies have been practiced from generations ago. They are reliable, easy to follow, and have no side effects on the human body. Moreover, herbal plants are eco-friendly while pharmaceutical medicines consume chemicals that cause water and gas pollutions. In addition, seasonal and minor illnesses such as cough, sneezing, and headache can be cured by self-treatment if we have some medical knowledge. This practice can be a lot more economical than visiting hospitals as they charge a lot and make us buy expensive drugs.

However, this development also has many flaws. Each pill, capsule, or medical drink obtains complex chemicals and we never know whether a chemical reaction can be fatal or toxic. That is why some people trigger allergic reactions or even worsen their health by curing themselves. Therefore, doctors are the only trustworthy people to consult as they have studied medicine and specialized in the medical field for years. By meeting them, they can give an insight into your disease, make suggestions for your diet or lifestyle and inform you if the surgery is necessary.

To conclude, as I see it, depending on self-treatment is not guaranteed for the safety of one’s health. Since we should simply go to the local clinic or hospital and meet doctors who can point us in the direction.