In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations.

Nowadays, the average life expectancy is improving particularly in developed countries. In my opinion, governments are responsible for solving the negative impacts this trend can set on both individual and governmental levels.

As people start living longer, it can cause several problems for the host nation. To start with, there would be more elderly citizens of retirement age who are applicable for pensions. Therefore, the proportion of young adults becomes less, whom local authorities rely on for their job taxes. Moreover, this situation puts a burden not only on the national tax system but also on other facilities such as healthcare, accommodation, and senior care. Young people who have become breadwinners will also face difficulties to look after elderly family members and pay for medical bills.

There are a couple of measures governments need to take to reduce the impact of increased life expectancy. Firstly, the retirement age should be set older, perhaps from 60 to 65, as old people today are still healthy and energetic to work for a living. Countries with an aging population can address the financial problems by encouraging immigration, therefore receiving more employees and businesses which fund the national tax. Finally, public services such as transportation, accommodation, and healthcare should be improved for old citizens.

In conclusion, people will continue having long and healthy lives because of revolutionized healthcare technologies and improved living standards. Although this can be a pressing concern for individuals and society, I believe systematic planning and some changes for national finance by the government can take over any negative impact.