The education you receive from your family is more important than the
education you receive from school. To what extent do you agree with this
statement and why? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant
examples from your own knowledge or experience.
Education comes from many places, not just formal schooling. People learn from
their family, their friends, the television and personal experience among many
other ways. Although these avenues of learning are certainly important, I believe
that education within schools is much more important, as it lays the foundations
for future achievement and wider success as I shall show.
Firstly, formal qualifications which are earned at school are often the entry points
to certain careers and jobs. In order to be a lawyer or doctor, you need to do well
at school so you can go on to study for professional qualifications. Additionally,
many jobs ask for basic qualifications in Maths and English when you apply.
Without these qualifications, an individual could become limited in what they can
do with their professional lives.
In addition to this, school also prepares you for relationships outside your family,
which is an important aspect of life. School is a good socialisation tool because a
student needs to deal with relationships on many different levels, for example
with teachers and school friends, and they also need to deal with threats to
happiness such as bullying.
Families are important as often children gain their moral outlook and aspirational
goals from their parents. Although, children can succeed to a certain extent,
without a favourable family setting, it is doubtful whether they could succeed
without schooling.
In conclusion, there are many beneficial forms of education, however, I believe
schooling is more important than education within the family. This is because
formal education gives you qualifications and socialisation that the family cannot
offer.