Some people say patriotism causes problems and is negative overall. Others feel that it is beneficial for society at large.

Do the advantages of patriotism outweigh its disadvantages?

Many feel that patriotism has a beneficial impact overall. In my opinion, although there are legitimate reasons to be proud of one’s country, patriotic feelings do generally produce more negatives than positives.

Proponents of patriotism argue it is a natural impulse with tangible benefits. Firstly, a strong sense of patriotism can be motivating. Individuals who have pride in their country are more likely to work hard for the common good. This applies to a variety of positions in society and may include soldiers serving in the military, healthcare workers during times of national emergencies, and even common workers contributing to a flourishing national economy. Secondly, individuals can use investment in their country’s successes to support their own self-esteem. Most people support their country similar to how sports fans root for a team. Success elevates their mood and connects them to a wider community.

However, patriotism is often taken to extremes. This occurs most frequently with vulnerable segments of society. For instance, it is common for military recruiters to target less affluent individuals. If they serve in a war abroad, then there is a strong likelihood they will later suffer from a mental or physical handicap. More generally, most people employ patriotism as a proxy for their own personal achievements. This can be evidenced during the furor surrounding the Olympics every four years. This quintessentially patriotic event costs taxpayers tremendously, inflames tensions between rival countries, and distracts from investing time in personal development. At best, patriotism is a marginal net negative and at worst it can foster an unhealthy dependency.

In conclusion, though patriotism is beneficial economically and in terms of one’s self-esteem at times, the drawbacks related to disassociation are more significant. Mental health should not be dependent on the fortunes of one’s compatriots.