Science could help people live up to 100 or even 200 years. Would that be a good or a bad development? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is human’s nature to live and die. However, science and technology have developed to an extent that people’s longevity has increased profoundly. Maybe in the future we can live one or even 2 centuries. That would be good news for all of us despite some challenges it brings.

Some will be happy when living over 100 years is becoming possible. Our longevity has doubled over the past century and as a result there are families with 3 or more generations. This means that traditional values can be handed on more easily as well as wisdom and experience.

However, some cast doubt on this leap of science. As people live longer, our population will definitely increase. As a result, people will either stop bearing child which brings the evolution process to a halt or they can find a new planet for new generations to live in. While people can hand down good values, they also pass on prejudices and bias to their latest generations.

Having considered different points of view about increasing life span, I think that lengthen human’s life span will be a good idea if it is really possible. We can lengthen the life of our rare geniuses and also try to control the growth of population by reducing the number of off springs using birth control.

To sum up, whether enabling human to live over 100 years old will do us good depends on how we see it. I do think that it is a good development although we need to be aware of potential negative outcomes such as overpopulation or the halt of evolution.