Science will soon make people live up to 100 or even 200 years. Some believe this is the a good thing while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion

People's lifespan will soon be extended up to a century or even more by the advancement of science. While there are different views about whether this is a favorable thing or not, in my opinion, I consider that detrimental because of its adverse effects on the countries' environment and economy.

On the one hand, some think that living for a more extended period could be a good thing. To begin with, being beside loved ones for over 100 years would make people feel more prosperity and happiness. It may be highlighted when they face the sorrow of their relatives' and friends' death later. Furthermore, if people's life became lengthened, they would have a more productive life. That is, they would have more time to accomplish their goals and expectations, especially those which would be inaccessible in their natural lifetime.

On the other hand, it is argued by some that prolonging human life would be problematic, and I agree. They believe that the fewer deaths, the more population explosion, which leads to more consumption of the limited environmental resources. As a result, this could cause some severe water and food shortage problems, which may cause some strifes and wars worldwide. In addition, dealing with potential physical and mental issues of aging may put societies under financial pressures. To be more precise, the individuals and the governments should spend more money on senior citizens' care and treatment.

In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinion, I think it is not a welcome thing that people live up to 100 years or even more with the help of science. It leads to overpopulation resulting in depletion of world supplies and increases the cost of caring for the elderly for societies.