Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

All companies strive to grab the customers’ attention and make them purchase. They sometimes use advertisements to promote their goods and services to the ultimate customer. Some people claim that advertising is one of the most persuasive methods to convince people to purchase different products. However, MY FIRM CONVICTION IS THAT + MODERN ADVERTISING IS NOT AS EFFECTIVE AS WE MIGHT THINK IT IS.

IT IS TO SOME EXTENT TRUE THAT product advertising DOES PROMOTE THE SALES OF a wide variety of goods and services from branded products to newly-marketed ones. It can allure customers to buy everything WHETHER they NEED THEM or not. So many multi-media and attention-grabbing designs including special colors, memorable music and catchy slogans are used to induce the people to purchase. They catch the eye and stick in the mind, which unconsciously enhance the demand for the presented products.

On the other hand, HOWEVER, people are bombarded with thousands of advertisements NOWADAYS, which seem to reduce their effectiveness. They are everywhere FROM traditional media like TV, radio, street billboards and newspapers TO THE INTERNET AND online social media. AS THEY SAY, MORE IS NOT ALWAYS BETTER. TOO MUCH ADVERTISING will result in the loss of audience attention. Simply put, advertisements provide the audience with such excessive data that they have to ignore them. THERE ARE SO MANY NAMES AND BRANDS THAT YOU’RE JUST SPOILT FOR CHOICE. They apply some approaches to escape from this unnecessary information. For instance, they disregard the advert breaks on the TV, meanwhile they go to the bathroom or have a small snack. They CAN also easily skip any pop-up advert while using the internet. This will have a huge impact on the rate that each advert is seen. Therefore, the less they are seen by potential customers, the less they will be successful.

To wrap up, I am personally OF the opinion that advertisements are not attractive anymore although some may opine that they are strong tools to persuade people. This is mainly because people learn how to disregard them.