Some individual claim that scientific research should be carried out by the governments rather than private companies. While it is beneficial to let private companies conduct research , I think scientific research should be controlled by governments.

To begin with , there are two dangers of letting private companies conduct research . In terms of the quality and objectivity of the research itself , corporation may be tempted to manipulate result to maximize profits. There are various case that new results being introduced out hurriedly after inadequate trials. For example ,thalidomide , developed by a German company result in the birth of thousands of malformed children . From an ethical perspective ,leaving research into many areas such as genetic engineering in the hands of enterprise may have detrimental social consequences such as GM crops with unproven effect may damage the ecosystem as a result of meddling with nature.

Although governments have to allocate resources to other areas of public spending ,it is essential they take responsibility for conducting research . Firstly, the highest standard can be set by providing funds for university to carry out high-quality research to benefit society as a whole , not to gain competitive edge or break into new market. Knowledge thus attained can be shared worldwide through global academic community. Secondly government decision making is the best way to prioritize expenditure on specific area of research , taking consideration the needs of society , in the present and the future . One example is the development of renewable energy to meet growing demand.

In conclusion , I assert that government should bear sole responsibility for scientific research.