Scientists predict in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people. Why? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Artificial intelligence has taken over mankind in every aspects in this decade. Therefore, a majority of scientists believe that self-operating vehicles will become the main transportation for people in the near future. There are several reasons why the scientists have made this prediction. However, I believe this technology advance brings more negativity to human life.

To begin with, the prediction of self-driven cars in the future is existed for a few reasons. Since the appearance of the first computing unit, professional engineers have vastly improved this simple unit and pushed the new functions into almost every daily aspects which include transportation. Hence, the idea of cars that are driven by computers is predicted undoubtedly. Furthermore, there pioneers in this field who actually succeeded in bringing this type of cars into reality. For example, Tesla is one of the first corporations to invent automatic smart cars that absolutely require no control from the driver.

However, the development of intelligent vehicles still has a big setback. Although this technology has come to a new milestone, there are still circumstances where human’s control is needed. For instance, when facing a smaller object on the road in lowlight conditions, computers cannot calculate whether such object is a person or not. Thus, with the program functioned to protect driver, the car will continue to slam over that obstacle, which would result in a different way if a man was behind the wheel. Moreover, if the outbreak of hand-free cars happens, more and more people will become jobless in the future which creates new massive problem for the authorities.

In conclusion, there is no doubt why scientists predict that cars will no longer need human’s control in the future. However, this development does not seem to bring a favor to human’s daily life.