Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

There has been a matter of concern among people about the scientists’ prediction that only one language will be spoken by people all over the world in the future. While there are some drawbacks of this development, I believe that it is more advantageous for our society.

On the one hand, merely speaking a language can lead to undeniable consequences. In fact, when only a similar language is used by the majority of people, this can pose a significant threat to the disappearance of the enormous number of other languages. Subsequently, the lack of other languages can result in great losses in terms of cultural and traditional values. For instance, young Vietnamese people tend to consider more Western occasions such as Christmas than conventional festivals of their country due to the increasing popularity of learning English in Vietnam.

On the other hand, I suppose that using a similar language is a positive enhancement. The main advantage of this tendency is that individuals all around the world would find no difficulties in communication. For example, using the same language can boost time spent on exchanging information in many important areas such as business and tourism. In addition, by using the same language in writing, learners can easily look for materials released by the variety of overseas authors instead of limited books published by solely indigenous writers. As a result, not only can this trend promote working efficiency but it also facilitates students’ learning.

In conclusion, I believe that purely speaking one language are much greater benefits than its drawbacks.