Some people say that family has the most powerful influence on a child's development. However, other people say that other influences (music, other people) have the greatest influence on children. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that some skeptics would advocate that families play an indispensable role in the children’s lives. Nevertheless, there are others who argue that some influences such as other people and music are also important factors for the maturation of children. In this essay, I will outline some rational reasons to support the latter idea.

First of all, some people believe that members of the family who play a role as the reliable sources of financial and mental supports are the most considerable contributors to the development of the young generation. Indeed, families in general and parents in particular often use their salaries to guarantee the best education and living conditions for their children. Moreover, children are usually received affection and protection from their families which may benefit their emotions and feelings. Consequently, with the combination of those two key factors, youngsters can be right oriented and well-educated which leads to the appropriate development of them in the future.

However, I believe that other factors can outweigh families in terms of the fact that knowledge which may hardly be taught by just parents can be improved rapidly by learning from external society. Firstly, regarding outside influences, not only can children learn more social skills such as communication and leadership but they can also enrich their knowledge. For example, doing voluntary work which creates more opportunities to collaborate with other people is an effective way for children in order to get on with them and gain new experiences for themselves. Secondly, music which may be difficult to teach by parents but can be found easily in some recreative programs and videos also exemplifies an ideal factor to improve children’s mental ability and emotions.

In conclusion, although the importance of families is undeniable, I highly appreciate that children should learn through various external sources and social activities.