Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

We are living in the Internet century, people communicate via multiple methods with the most common languages to speed up their connections. In the meantime, some minority languages face the risk of disappearance due to lack of usage by their native speakers. Some citizens suggest their governments should prioritize preventing further languages from dying, meanwhile, others deny that solution to save budget.

On the one hand, there are strong reasons to think that using the national budget to protect those languages from dying out. Firstly, languages are human heritages because they are often the only way to convey a community’s songs, poems… Secondly, languages also have the capacity of expressing unique cultural characteristics due to the fact that without languages, the cultures itself disappear. Another aspect that makes nurturing languages stand out is that they can give insight into neurology, psychology and linguistic capacities of our species. For example, unlike English speakers who use only 'You' and 'I' in a dual conversation, Vietnamese speakers use various words to call the listeners upon on their relationships.

On the other hand, the budget to protect the minority languages is quite costly. The first prominent justification is that language's loss, like species loss because it is simply a fact of life on the planet. Furthermore, the number of people who speak the rare languages almost live far apart from the world. In addition, their younger generations aim to reach to the developed countries or areas, by studying most dominant languages like English.

To summarize, for the above reasons, although preventing the minority languages is costly and challenging, it seems to me that governments should invest to revive those languages even after actually going extinct to protect the diversity of cultures, species and heritage.