Shopping habits depend more on your age group than anything else.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are various factors that drive a person’s shopping habit however a number of people opine that the most predominant force is age. From my own perspectives, age does significantly determine our proclivity in purchasing but its influences pale in comparison with social class and financial condition.

On the one hand, people who advocate the former notion can vindicate their point of view by indicating the fixed preference in shopping lists of different age brackets as a result of generation differences. Apparently, these days, modifications, especially in technology industry, has been taking place ubiquitously and continuously. People who were born in pre-digital era are more likely to buy books, holidays and non-digital items. Whereas the younger group are inclined to allocate their money in clothes, state-of-the-art technological devices and the like, which constitute fashionable. Moreover, age considerably impacts on taste in objects and consequently shopping habits. To illustrate, the youth are always seen in colorful, vibrant-colored clothing. In contrast, seniors tend to wear an ensemble of formal and darker tone of hue.

On the other hand, there is no shadow of a doubt that wealth determines what an individual can afford and therefore buy. It is money that either allows us to be generous with shopping bill or forces us to be frugal. This can be extended to a variety of products ranging from food, clothes to high-tech items, . . For instance, most individuals would love to buy the newest smartphone when it is released, drive in a luxury car and shop for expensive and healthy organic products at the supermarket. However, concerns about extravagant in shopping can culminate in shortages in other bills don’t allow less affluent class to cater to their demand.

In conclusion, despite the clear differences in taste present in individuals or different generations, financial flexibility is the clearest factor influencing a person’s shopping habits.