Should students be allowed to choose which classes they take, or should they be required to take the same classes as everyone else? what are the advantages and disadvantages of each approach to education?

The issue about students can study on what they preferable only is debatable. Some people think that students have the right to choose what they prefer to study while others opposed to it. This essay will discuss the pros and cons about everyone should take the same classes or only desired classes.

Undoubtedly, granting students the right to attend the class they desired offer a huge number of benefits. Most notably, students get to develop a sense of identify and sharpen important skills unique to choose fields they interest in. For instance, not everyone has talent in mathematics and science subjects. Students who weak in these subjects perhaps have inborn talent in other aspects such as sport, art etcetera. They can join art or sport classes to ensure that the have a unique skill to earn a living. Nevertheless, many students are still too young to decide on what they want to study for. Normally they will just follow their friends and choose those subjects which are easy to score, but not what they really interest in.

On the other hand, making it mandatory for all students to enroll the same classes share the equal merits and demerits. Apparently, education standardization can improve the quality of work force and maintain a balance in all fields. By doing so, students’ comprehensive abilities can be cultivated and give full play to their talents in all aspects. But unfortunately, the innate abilities of students are not fully harnessed. Last but not least, study in the course which they do not interest in also a waste of time.

In conclusion, there are both plus and minus in taking the same classes or only preferable one. In my opinion, subjects which provide basic skill and knowledge must be compulsory while other subjects can be optional and depend on students.