Should students be allowed to choose which classes they take, or should they be required to take the same classes as everyone else?

What are the advantages and disadvantages of each approach to education?

Education is believed to be a passport to creating a bright future of a child. However, there is an argument about whether children should make their own decision about their classes, or there should be a requirement for everyone to attend the same classes. This essay will first discuss the positive and negative aspect of the latter approach and then provide some reasons why students should be allowed to plan their study themselves.

On the one hand, it is said that students who enrolled in the same education system should be required to take the same classes. In the modern schooling system, there is a type of classes so-called compulsory subject that every pupil have to attend during their school life. The purpose of those classes is to provide a basis of each matter that will occur in their further future; nevertheless, most students, do oppose to participate in. It is because they think this approach may not benefit their plan.

On the other hand, there is a comprehensive belief that choosing what classes to study is the students' decision. Put simply, children should be allowed to attend their dream subject to express themselves, and with the opportunity to plan their subjects, pupils will be able to investigate their real interest. However, it may affect their life because they do not have any chance to understand other aspects of study so well.

In conclusion, the compulsory classes may benefit each student with their overview of life which they might not receive if they choose their class, but, it also prevents them from experiencing their real interest. Deciding their future contributes to a better understanding of their dream, but it may not provide the same notion of education others have.