Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth and resources among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education? Or is it the responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizen themselves?

It is remarkable the huge difference between countries that can provide a comfortable life to their people and countries that cannot even afford basic rights to their citizens. Because of that, some school of thought believes that strong economies should help poorer nations, supporting at least food and education, while some other people think the government should be responsible for looking after their internal problems.

Both points of view are interesting. Unfortunately, some countries do not have enough facilities and resources, especially when it comes to basic needs, such as food and education. Thinking about making the world a better place and also thinking as human beings, wealthy nations should help poor countries. If we want a country to develop and to be able to support their citizens, a good choice is providing at least education.

On the other hand, the idea of always helping poorer nations also brings the thought that those governments would not make any effort to improve their own situation. They would get used to external resources and money and this may create a vicious circle and probably they will always ask for more and more aids.

Therefore, a fair decision would not be to obligate rich nations to support problems of other governments, but to encourage them to motivate countries with certain issues to get back on their feet.

In conclusion, it is important that first world countries provide a little assistance for needy nations, in order to stimulate them to increase and get a better life standard. However, wealthy governments should always be ready to offer help to other nations in extreme cases, like hurricanes, floods, earthquakes or terrorist attack.