Smokers can cause themselves serious health problems. The choice to smoke is made freely and with knowledge of dangers.Smokers should therefore expect to pay more for medical treatment than non-smokers.To what extent do you agree with this statement?You s

People who smoke facing several illness issues even they chose to smoke despite knowing how it is harmful. People who do not smoke, want smokers to pay more for healthcare. In this essay, I will discuss this interesting topic and provide opinions.

Smoking cigarets or cigars cost many lives across the globe every year, as the number of victims increasing every year, costs of their treatment inpatient or outpatient rapidly growing and affecting our healthcare system. “Smoking kills”, it is generally known. Kids in primary school are educated of serious sicknesses, which smoking causes. However, most of them experienced cigarets in young age and keep smoking all over their adult life. Nowadays, when kids start smoking in young age, our healthcare providers treating more younger patients than before.

Smoking affects all body parts and causing a range of sickness. The most dangerous is a lung cancer or throat cancer. People with this disorder demand on intensive and expensive care from specialists, who could spend their time in research or treatment of sick people whom illness have not been caused by cigarets. In end-stage of lung or throat cancer, the majority of patients ending up in Intensive care units, where a day of treatment valued more than 5000 dollars a day except their expensive medication. These people also block intensive care beds for another patient awaiting surgery or so.

To conclude, treatment of smokers significantly affects our healthcare system and moving money into it. In my opinion is absolutely fair to pay smokers more for their medical treatment as they put themselves at a risk and aware of its consequences.