It has long been recognized that smoking is one of the negative factors which leads to severe diseases and death all over the world in recent years. Developing laws regarding banning cigarettes and other tobacco products is considered to be the responsibility of the government to protect public health. As far I am concerned, there is a wide range of reasons for us to make an agreement with this notion.

For smokers themselves, after smoking for a long time, their health has to face several negative consequences. First, they would have shorter longevity in comparison with normal people. Reseach has proved smokers lose about ten years of their life and one-half of the smokers eventually died because of their addiction. Second, smoking can increase the risk of health deterioration, leading to serious illnesses such as lung cancer or bronchitis. It is reported that smoking accounts for one-third of respiratory deaths and over a quarter of cancer deaths.

Moreover, smoking not merely has negative impacts on smokers but also second-handed smokers as well. Having said that for children who have smokers in their family or live near the smoking areas, it will increase the likelihood of being affected by heart or lung diseases for 25%. Women who are pregnant are also one of the victims of cigarettes smoke, it may affect her baby which results in mental diseases like Down disease.

Although smoking has aroused people concern in our present world, the government still haven't developed any laws relating to this situation, cigarettes, and other tobacco products' manufactures still locate in several countries and produce thousands of cigarettes packets for profit every day.

In the light of these facts, I believed that this is why the government should take cigarettes ban into account. This can not only provide the citizen with better living standard but also helps them to prevent severe illness which caused by smoking.