Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks.

Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, social media has become a part and parcel of everybody's lives, irrespective of the age groups. However, sharing one's personal details on social networking websites may have a boon or a bane. Here, we will be discussing on a few advantages, there are some disadvantages to this which are worth considering.

First of all, social websites are a good networking platform to connect to eachother, where information can be transferred to one another in no time. People can know about eachother, they can chat, upload photos, make video calls and many more. It is very useful for those whose friends and family stay in the overseas, it acts as a medium to connect. Earlier, there were many challenges for people to go for their job, leaving their family but now these networking sites have made it simple.

However, it also has some drawbacks. Uploading pictures and sharing one's personal details on a social platform reduces one's privacy. These data can be misused in various ways. Pictures can be edited and photoshopped by hooligans, which are then used as a blackmailing tool to the victim. It affects one's reputation and mental problem, it might result to depression whereas the hooligans' future is being spent around officers' organisations.

To recaptulate, everything has some advantages and also disadvantages. we should be wise enough to choose the right one instead of being impulsive. There are a plethora of resources, but we should be limited to our needs and not misutilise it. Anything beyond their limit is not appreciated.