Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many

countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar

energy?

In recent decades, there has been a stimulating discussion related to energy consumption around the world. The adoption of solar energy to regular households has become more widely accepted as it offers positive impacts on the environment while meeting the needs of energy consumption in human activities. This essay attempts to examine underlying factors of the trend and argues why solar energy conversion would offer more benefits than drawbacks.

Humans have been in the search of alternative energy due to the rising concern about the environmental crisis and oil depletion. Solar energy appears to be one of the optimal solutions as it is infinite, exploitable, and causes minimal impact on the environment. While hydro energy must rely on constant streams of water and nuclear energy carries an enormous threat to nature, adoption, and commercialization of solar energy to regular households provides a much safer option while meeting daily needs from human activities.

One of the main benefits of solar energy would be a lower cost per unit of consumption. Unlike other conventional forms of energy, solar energy can be autonomously harvested from the sun through heat absorption by solar panels and automatically converted to electricity for regular use. Therefore, labor input of daily operation can be disregarded, thus making this source of energy economically viable and worth investing in.

Having said that, the major concern of solar energy comes from the installment of its equipment. Besides the panel as stated above, there must be a battery as energy storage in the event of cloudy weather and nighttime. The manufacturing of the battery is considered expensive as it requires a specific material from Africa. Moreover, that the extraction process has caused detrimental impacts on the environment as well. As a result, as long as this issue has not been resolved, people will be reluctant and hesitate to make decisive changes.

In conclusion, solar energy presents as an ideal option for clean sources of energy as it is renewable, exploitable, and economically favorable. Although the installment and battery production seem to be a challenge for manufacturers, I strongly believe the issue will be soon resolved by other alternatives, and the potential benefits are worth pursuing.