Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Write an essay of at least 250 words to an educated reader to discuss advantages and disadvantages of solar energy and give your opinion. Include reasons and any relevant examples to support your answer.

In recent years, it is true that solar energy has gained popularity as an alternative “green” energy for many households in different parts of countries all over the world. This essay will thus pinpoint the merits and demerits of this phenomenon.

On the one hand, the popularity of solar energy is due to the innumerable advantages that it offers to users. Notably, solar energy is the cleanest and extremely effective way of making our household more efficient and sustainable since unlike gas, oil and coal, it does not contribute to global warming, acid rain, or smog. As a result, solar energy does not emit any harmful greenhouse gases and all other environmental hazards associated with the conventional source of power can be avoided. Another important advantage of solar energy is to give us freedom and control over electricity. To be specific, solar energy supplies are massive, and the light of the sun is totally free. Compared to fossil fuels, they are fast running out. Hence, reducing our dependency on these finite resources by using a free source of energy, such as sunlight, could mean lower energy prices, reduced greenhouse gas emissions and a stronger, more stable energy future. Besides, It can be seen as a worthwhile investment as the subsequent maintenance costs of solar panels are comparatively inexpensive. Once installed, there are no recurring costs. They operate silently. More solar panels can easily be added in the future when your family’s needs grow. Therefore, anyone irrespective of their financial strength or weakness can afford solar energy.

On the other hand, the disadvantages of solar energy can not be overlooked. More important, currently the costs of installing facilities using renewable energy are high, which means they are not an ideal option for small-sized companies and households in developing countries. Additionally, the technology necessary to set up solar panels is not available in many countries, so it is impossible for people there to use them. Another downside is that solar energy depends on sunlight, it may not work very well and we may not be accessible in case of bad weather like cloudy or rai, storm. Besides, we can use solar panels to help generate electricity, but they might be damaging your roof in the process.

In conclusion, the aid of technological breakthroughs has made it evident that solar energy is getting more affordable and clean every day as solar energy is the better choice to go green for the general consumer. However, in order to use this energy source, one may encounter anomalies as well as concerns with regular maintenance. Therefore, we need to take into consideration its shortcomings before deciding to install it.