Solar energy is the energy of the future. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Non-renewable and renewable resources usually raise a lot of arguments in terms of their merits and demerits. One of which is solar energy coming into view, it has always been a topic of controversy. Some argue that solar energy is the energy of the future. I am greatly in favor of this statement for these three following reasons.

In the first place, there is no denying that solar energy is free. To be more precise, it is abundantly available and it has virtually no exploitational and replacement cost, which makes it a cheaper option as compared to other non-renewable sources of energy like fossil fuels. In addition to the first argument, it can hardly be denied that solar energy is plentiful and inexhaustible. The energy absorbed from the sunlight can produce approximately the same amount of electricity generated from harnessing fossil fuels without taking time to be replenished or replaced. Meanwhile, fossil fuels like coal or oil take nearly thousands of years to be restocked for further generations.The two above mentioned opinions lead me to the third viewpoint that solar energy is safe and non-polluting. Apparently, the process of harnessing energy from the sun does not result in any harm to the environment; it is completely pollution-free, unlike other non renewable resources which require burning and sophisticated exploiting procedures .

Admittedly, there are strong arguments against the idea that solar energy is the energy of the future, one of which is that it takes a lot of money to build a solar energy system. A company that helps residents to install a solar energy system has reported that residential solar electric systems cost an average of $20,000 between the panels.. Opponents might also argue that solar energy is less efficient compared to fossil fuels. The sun won't stop providing sunlight any time soon, and it's available all over the world. However, the amount of sunlight we receive varies depending on location, time of day, season, and weather conditions. According to the statistics recorded and updated in 2022 on the ConsumerAffairs website, while the efficiency rate of solar energy is 15-22%, that of fossil fuels is higher, ranging from 20 to 40%.

While it is true that installing solar energy can be costly at first, it is unacceptable to argue that solar energy is more expensive than using fossil fuels. It is the short-term and long-term costs that matter. A payback period is the amount of time it takes to earn back your initial investment. Solar panels can help you save enough money on energy bills over time to offset the upfront costs. To be more precise, for people who have to refill their fuel tanks for heat, this energy can provide them a huge amount of energy with much less cost that they have to pay when using fossil fuel. In terms of efficiency, when examined insightfully, it turns out to be solar energy that is more efficient, especially thanks to the development of science and technology that more research will be conducted thoroughly. While fossil fuels might currently be abundant, they are a finite resource that will get harder to extract and more expensive to use. One great example is shale oil, which requires fracking to be done to extract it out, resulting in not just enormous financial cost but also damage done to the environment and communities. Solar power, on the other hand, can peacefully coexist within communities while technological advancement has caused the price of solar electricity to drop by 89% in 10 years – making it an electricity source for the future.

All things considered, it is my firm belief that solar energy is the energy of the future. This can be well illustrated by the fact that many developing and developed nations have already shifted to the use of solar energy as the main methods of producing electricity not only for housing but also manufacturing with the help of advances in technology.