Solving environment problems should be the responsibility of an international organization rather than each national government. Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

These days, Global warming and air pollution are now frequent headlines on TV and in the newspapers all over the world, which keep us reminding of obligation to protect the environment. Some say this is an important topic for each nation, also it should be in international organization’s hands. I disagree with this statement for some reasons.

Having said that, environmental responsibility of governments around the world have a chain effect, benefitting not only the host country but also neighborly nations. Some say authorities in each area can understand causes and tackle them correctly. However, people feel that environmental problems are too complex for individual people to cope with. Thus, the government can take proactive measures to make people more environmentally responsible. Therefore, local states can impose campaigns which reach people realize and distinguish currently issues.

On the other hand, an international organization would act as a leader, issuing principles for all member countries to conform in the same way or it will have sufficient financial capabilities to support the improvement of the environment. Cited cases are the Kyoto protocol has contributed to the slowing down of climate change on the earth, or the United Nations’ support for Third World countries have helped improve the air quality there. This argument, however, fails to take into consideration the fact that compulsion often backfires if an individual nation has no intention to cooperate, or the incentives provided can make recipient countries over reliant and avoid coming up with innovative ideas to resolve their country’s environmental situation. This in the long term exerts a negative overall global effect.

In conclusion, uprooting environment problems should be the responsibility of each national government rather than an international organization.