Some argue that all citizens should be required to peform a certain amount of volunteer work in their community each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this proposal? Give explanations and examples to support your opinion.

the notion of mandatory volunteering is provocative. There are many ways in which citizens can give their time freely to help the commynity by picking up garbage, helping the poor, and building the local relationships. These can all benefit when done properly. However, it is not a good idea to force volunteer work from every citizen each year because not all people have the capacity to give their time freely at every stage in life, and a mandatory system of volunteering can promote corruption.

It is strongly disagreeable to expect every person to give rie freely year after year as this is logically flawed since people’s lives change and they may not be able to do this. Communities are filled with individuals such as young children, geriatrics, and disabled who may not have the ability to do free work. Indeed, it would be unrealistic to expect a single mother of three children, working two jobs to make ends meet, to then also five an addition hours of unpaid work each year to contribute to her community. This is one of two good reasons that governments must avoid this system of forced volunteer work

A second major point against expecting regular volunteer work is the potential for abusing this system for the benefit of the organizers. Indeed, human work effort has great value, and it is easy for authorities to take advantage of this for benefiting the needs of the few instead of the many. Historically, conscription has been in place in many countries which has led to miliary aggresstion in oder to incease the prosperity of the rulling class

In conclusion, compulsory volunteer work may seem like a good idea initially, but it is fundamentally flawed because of individual circumstance and malicious opportunities. Therefore, is strongly disagreeable to implement. Ideally,volunteering is just that, “an individual choosing to give their time freely without coercion”