Some believe children should have activities organized for them during their free time, whereas other think that children ought to plan their own free time. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is believed by some that it is necessary for children to have their leisure activities organized. Conversely, other people claim that it is in the benefit of children to plan their free time according to their own wishes. In my opinion, letting the youngsters spend their free time the way they want is a more efficient method than other people planning their activities.

On the one hand, some parents underestimate their children's capability of acquiring valuable knowledge on their own. Most children possess a well developed and strong sense of observation from an early stage in life. Only by looking at other people's activities, they can learn, for instance, how it is proper to react and behave depending on the situation they might be in. Studies conducted into this area have proved that self-directed learning and unstructured activities are effective approaches with regard to children's development. A child needs freedom to express his or her inner creativity. Even though parents might think that their children lack playful activities to fill their spare time, they can come up with innovative game ideas in the blink of an eye, by merely combining pieces or materials from various games.

On the other hand, a drawback of allowing children to plan their own leisure activities is the fact that their playing options could be detrimental to their health and overall safety, to a certain degree. Today, there is no doubt that some youngsters spend a considerable amount of time playing violent and inappropriate games on different kinds of gadgets. The games in question might negatively impact on children's behaviour. Moreover, their game preferences often lack physical activity, which is of great importance in the children's development. Therefore, parents must persuade their children that a range of organized activities can be both enjoyable and beneficial.

To conclude, I strongly believe that parents ought to let the children discover the wonders surrounding them on their own and consequently trust their organizational skills in terms of spare time activities, as long as the activities they prefer are neither dangerous nor inadequate for their age.