Some believe that going to college is the best way to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to start working after graduating from high school. Discuss these two views and give your opinion

Opinions are divided on whether people should start working as soon as they finish high school or whether higher education is essential for anyone who desires to pursue a successful career. From my perspective, I am in favor with the later view.

There are several reasons why some people believe that going to work after graduating from high school should be more preferable than attending college. From their perspectives, lectures at school focus on theoretical points and deskwork. In other words, students are provided with overwhelming theories which can be hard to apply to the real-word settings. Moreover, colleges and universities may fail to give students adequate hands on experiences and extra curriculum activities though they require plenty of research papers. As a result, some people involve in work as soon as possible as they are allowed to expose to the reality and learn in a more practical way.

However, I still side with those who hold the view that students should go to attend college after graduating from high school. The major reason is that without a bachelor’s degree, people may struggle to land a well-paid job. To be more specific, in the competitive job market, the employees oftentimes rely on the number of degrees that ones earn to decide whether they are qualified enough for the job. In addition, people who pursue higher education may have higher chance to be promoted at work in comparison with those just finish high school. By way of illustration, superiors usually possess at least a bachelor’s degree and even be required a master’s degree in the same area to gain promotion.

In conclusion, while I understand why some people believe it is better to work than to continue studying after high school, I am of the opinion that people should go to the college if they would like seek for a successful career.