Some believe technology has made our lives too complex and the solution is to lead a simpler life without technology.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that life has become more and more complicated due to advances in technology and that people had better simplify to lead fulfilling lives. Personally, whereas I agree that technology has resulted in a more complex world, I also believe that it brings about more benefits and therefore should not be eliminated in the contemporary world.

On the one hand, a major reason why technology has complicated life for people today is that it has made them perpetually available. For instance, in earlier times, workers used to have a nine-to-five job and then come home to spend time with their family or enjoy their private life. These days, nevertheless, although their work has been finished, people still turn out to receive email notifications and phone calls from their managers or colleagues and as a result, they are usually snowed under with work and do not have much free time to have a conversation with members in the family, which may lead to constant misunderstanding among them.

On the other hand, it is detrimental to remove technology from daily life. To embark on, the advent of advanced communication technology has facilitated communication among people regardless of geographical distance. A salient example is that during the current situation of COVID-19 pandemic, the Internet allows people to stay connected with others through social media such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc without having to meet in person. Furthermore, technological advancements have made it more convenient for us to acquire knowledge. For example, in earlier times, people had to waste a lot of time looking for relevant materials in the library to support their work. Nowadays, on the contrary, with the aid of the Internet, we are easy to gain access to infinite sources of information just at the touch of a button.

By way of conclusion, although we are leading a more intricate lifestyle owing to technological breakthroughs, turning away from them will adversely affect our lives. Hence, people should make an effort to use technology wisely in order to live happier, more rewarding lives.