Some business face problems with new employees who just finished their education and lack some interpersonal skills such as the ability to work in team. What do you think is the main cause of the problem? How can it be resolved?

It is widely believed that the vast majority of employees lack interpersonal skills such as collaborating as a team, focusing mainly on diplomas at tertiary schools. However, this common issue may invoke adverse drawbacks to many organisations. In addition, there are many factors which directly contribute to the imbalance between academic knowledge and social skills, and I believe that timely measurements can be adopted to tackle this pressing problem.

On the other hand, the reasons why children only concentrate on graduation and forget about interpersonal abilities come from different impacts.Firstly, it is the modern society that most colleges priortise theoretical knowledge more than practical approaches and experience. For instance, universities in Vietnam which only assess students’ progress through academic subjects such as Math or Chemistry make children totally forget about improving personal skills. Hence, these types of teenagers may encounter difficulties when they enter professional workplace in the future. Moreover, such an erroneous method in parental upbringing can act as a potential reason. In addition, if aldults satisfy their children’s demand in all fields, kids will not only care about themselves only but also find it complicated to escape from this self-centred environment. Consequently, such an arrogant child lacking the ability to cooperate in a team work suffers from hardship related to communicating with co-workers, negatively affecting a whole company’s progress.

On a practical note, measurements should be adopted as soon as possible to solve this alarming problem. To begin with, universities should provide their students with many practical courses in the pre-final year of the graduation. For instance, University of technology in Vietnam has already adapted this solution in its education’s program, leading to a significant improvement in a student’s performance at work after graduating. Secondly, the more time the parents spend enhancing moral values to adolescents, the more well-rounded their kids may become.In addition, these children who are thoroughly educated to collaborate in work’s projects and listen to different opinions will contribute massively to an organisation’s success.

Taking everything into consideration, although many factors came from educational programs or family largely invoke the scarcity of interpersonal skills, many solutions can be provided to balance the tense relationship between theoretical knowledge and social abilities.