Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills such as cooperative skill.

What are the causes of this and suggest possible solutions to this problem

It is true that the lack of personal vital soft skills in the freshman of some businesses has become an increasingly widespread concern. Several reasons have resulted from this tendency and they should be tackled by a number of effective solutions.

The phenomenon can be attributed to a principal reason. Focusing on academic training instead of practical skills in tertiary education effect directly on enlarging youngster’s vocational knowledge. Take Vietnam as a prime example for pumping huge amount of money into a select group of top-tier institutions in recent years to enhance cognitive thinking of students by broadening some master courses rather than encourage the young to participate in extra-curricular activities, leading to the shortage of skilled workers in the labor market. Although young people who are fully educated, they face the risk of unemployment since most enterprises require employees to apply the sort of social knowledge in earning money, which helps them progress in their career.

Nevertheless, this issue can be alleviated, provided that some reasonable steps are taken. First, it is necessary to require vocational training as a compulsory part of higher education by changing the transmission of knowledge. If the number of irrelevant subjects it cut down and the school syllabus becomes more practical, young people have chances to enhance their curriculum vitae by obtaining social values. Second, some businesses take responsibility for organizing social activities to improve the solve-problem ability of freshmans. For instance, by getting involved in voluntary projects, workers able to strengthen the relationship with other colleagues, leading to a friendly effective environment for these institutions and individuals as well.

In conclusion, reasons related to the lack of vocational knowledge in universities lead to its demerits on the social ability of employees. However, schools and companies can take immediate steps to address this issue.