Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically

Do you think the advantages overweigh its advantages?

It is true that there are many people choose local food because of its environmental and economic value instead of using shipping food from a long-distance. Although this trend is not without disadvantage, the upsides will justify these.

On the other hand, there are several drawbacks of using local food to replace shipping food but the main one is the lack of diverse cuisines in local places. With the increase in the standard of living, more and more people have a high demand for different foods to supply for their daily meals. This means that today with the expansion of delivering food services that meet human needs such as convenience and saving time, leading to local food retailers have disappeared from many neighborhoods.

On the other hand, I would argue that the drawback above is eclipsed by two main positive points. First, if people eat at local restaurants, it is conducive to the environment. This means that eating at local food chains not only reduces the rate of using plastic bags to deliver foods from far away but also increases the maintaining of fresh ingredients of foods, leading to contribute to protect the environment and raise the safe hygiene standard of people as well. Second, to save a great deal of money, utilizing local food is an ideal choice. The local food price is relatively reasonable for all dishes whether food transportation from far distance accounts for a large amount of money on delivering cost.

In consumption, eating local food takes advantage of the improvement in environment and cost efficiency rather than utilizing shipping food, which brings many benefits for people.