More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why do they do that? Who benefit more from this, the community or these young people.

It is true that the voluntary work of the young in impoverished nations has become an increasingly widespread concern. The main one has resulted from this tendency and both individuals and these societies gain equal benefits.

The phenomenon can be attributed to the principal reason. Participating in voluntary works is considered as a compulsory way to enhance the resume of youngsters in some developed countries. Take America as a prime example for offering a wide range of extra-curricular activities, especially voluntary projects to help students have opportunities to find a decent job in their future since most enterprises require employees to master essential skills which gain through getting involved in social activities such as teaching or providing the accommodation for the poor. As a result, the young allocated a short-term to take part in these work to obtain valuable experience for themselves which is benefits for their later career and their life as well. Furthermore, to let off some steam after their hard work, some people participate in helping impoverished people.

Not only youngsters who spend their time in the pooer society by taking part in voluntary institutions but also these communities benefit from this particular practice. First, By helping the poor, it helps young people share sympathy with others which brings them pleasure and happiness in their life. Around 90 percent of volunteers satisfied and felt happy about their work after obtaining valuable experience through unpaid activities in their spare time in a recent study, leading to a significant increase in the rate of voluntary participants. Second, the local society has chance to heighten their social living standards, even though the impact of these voluntary projects is small and temporary.

In conclusion, reasons related to the improvement of curriculum vitae of the young lead to its popularity in many wealthy countries. It seems that both volunteers and the area that receive help can gain some certain values.