Many believe that individuals can do nothing to improve the environment. Only governments and big companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that preventing environmental degradation is the responsibility of national authorities and large enterprises instead of individuals. I completely disagree with this idea since I believe that both individuals and the government and huge firms should collaborate in tackling the environment-related issue.

On the one hand, the government and huge businesses play a pivotal role in alleviating environmental damage. To begin with, government should take stringent action of promoting the use of green materials while minimizing the over-consumption of disposable materials. For example, the state authority in Canberra, Australia has enacted a law to strictly prohibit single-use shopping bags within the state territory whereas citizens are strongly stimulated to use biodegradable bags such as paper or cloth bags for their routine life. In terms of enterprise, they take responsibility for improving the awareness campaigns of their employees such as organizing voluntary projects and investing in the green movement as well.

On the other hand, everyone can make a big difference by spreading out the responsibility of themselves to their community. Take Vietnam as a prime example, with a journey throughout Vietnam, a teacher named Thang shared his experience about the need for cutting down on emissions with social networking websites, leading to increasing plenty of people who utilize bicycles rather than cars. Another simple but feasible step that each person can do is establishing a green and sustainable lifestyle. For instance, not only households could opt to use energy-efficient equipment such as the compact light bubbles or the energy-saving heater but they may also rely on environmentally friendly devices like solar panels to generate electricity and hot water in their houses.

In conclusion, individuals are considered as an integral role in preventing the destruction of the natural world. Without each of the people, the national and local authorities and large companies will find it impossible to gain their goals in their policies.