Some car manufacturing companies have stated that there is a possibility that we will see flying cars in the future. Why is this going to happen? Will it be positive or negative development?

Automobile industries have declared the likelihood of having winged vehicles in the next few years. The fascinations of men to fly as well as the availability of modern technologies are the two main reasons for this possibility. This essay believes that this is a positive development.

On the one hand, flying cars have always fascinated people and attempts to build fully airborne vehicles, dates back to 100 years ago when the Wright brothers built their first aeroplane, but because of the lack of requisite technologies and technical expertise, this made flying cars an unreachable mirage. However, the presence of cutting-edge technologies today more than ever before makes some forms of flying cars a distinct possibility in the near future. For instance, according to an article published in the Car Magazine in 2016, it reported that Honda Motors Japan had already completed at least one test flight of their flying car prototype.

On the other hand, having a vehicle that can travel in the air could be very dangerous. Pilots who fly any aircraft are specially trained for many years before they are allowed to become airborne. For the general population to suddenly be allowed to take flight in a vehicle could cause tremendous chaos, as well as cause accidents. Without proper flight plan and coordinate training, it would be difficult for ordinary citizens to navigate the skies and to control their course of direction. For example, the Department of Defense in the Philippines published a report in 2018 stating that they would only support the development of flying cars if the training for each pilot was intensive and completed over 2 years.

In conclusion, the advancement of modern technologies will give birth to a flying automobile sooner than people may think and because of this, the public will not just enjoy the ride but also appreciate the benefits that come with it.