Some children spend hours every day on smartphones. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The time spent in using smartphones has burgeoned over the last few years and mostly, children fall prey to their addiction. There are many reasons behind this phenomenon which will be discussed in this essay thoroughly along with its consequences before concluding that this is a negative trend.

The first reason behind the overuse of smartphones is that, some digital applications are extremely addictive. Once a child starts using it, it becomes nearly impossible to leave it. Digital games attributes to this addiction. Nowadays, the graphics of mobile games have improved remarkably which captivates children. Moreover, after the Covid pandemic, almost all of the schools shifted to online classrooms. As a result, a child gets cut off from the real school environment and have to spend hours on online classes.

The other reason could be that, in today's world, both the parents have to work in order to sustain a better life. As they are always busy, the only way to limit the distractions caused by their children is to give them moblie phones. When children remain distracted by them, parents can go to work peacefully. This trend has a lot of bad impacts. There are various prohibited sites which children can watch unknowingly. It may also lead to interference in their privacy as most of them are used by hackers.

This trend has many detrimental effects on a child's health. Overuse of smartphones deteriorates their eyesight. A survey, conducted by the US department of Children's education, claims that after the advent of online schooling, more than 60% children started to have sight related problems. Furthermore, in lieu of playing outside having physical sports experience, they spent their leisure time by using video games. Apart from effects on eyesight, their physical heath also worsens. Also, they become isolated from the family and are not able to express their emotions freely.

It is true that smartphones made it much more convenient to be connected to everyone, but this advantage came at a price. Children actually gets cut off from their family and friends as they tend to be always busy in the virtual world.

In conclusion, the practice of excessive use of smartphones should be abandoned. Schools, families and government authorities certainly have to work together to bring this change.