Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. What solution is better?

The rise in demand for estates can be seen as the massive growth of population in the metropolitan areas. Therefore, to solve this problem, some people tend to build taller buildings, while developing houses in the wider areas are more reliable for others. Which one is the better solution?

Development of the gigantic and taller building as a resident is more preferred by people due to the number of capacity that is provided with a small footprint. That is to say that, the skyscraper in metropolitan cities can provide more houses for people in just one building, requiring a small location to develop it and avoiding the high price of land. For instance, the Kalla resident can accommodate about 150 families in their apartment, locating in the west of Makassar city with a land area about 3480 metres square. Therefore, people can get a house at an affordable price locating in the city centre.

That said, having a house in a wider area is more promising as this is offered a spacious room for the house owner. That is because some people, in particular, the older one needs more space to do their activities without any distraction from the neighbour living too close to them. A survey by House Market Company in 2019 revealed that 57% of people aged 40 and over chose to live in their own lives with a backyard and private car park, while 28% of them preferred to stay in the apartment having maximum 3 floors. Hence, owning a private space can make them more relax and free to do their activities without any worries to disturb by others.

Due to the huge increase in required for residents, create a skyscraper can be seen as a solution, offering the big capacities of houses, while some people are more likely to choose the house with a wider land giving more space for private activities. There possible, people have a suitable budget with their house preferences.