Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land What solution is better

Nowadays, there is a population movement toward big cities, the method of generating more accomodations for newly arrived citizen is a controversial topic. In my opinion, expanding the residential area by building taller buildings can have some benefits while utilizing wider land to create more houses also have some desirable effects.

There are a few advantages that vertical cities have compared to horizontally expanded cities. Firstly, by having higher residental towers, more apartments can be supplied for citizens without the need of clearing a massive amount of lands just to make houses. Secondly, with taller buildings, the cites shrinked in land size. As a result, the demand of transportations in far distances is minimized, citizens can just walk or use a bike to travel to their wanted locations. Finally, since the requirement of land space in vertical expanded cities is decreased, more space is left for facilities such as parks, schools and community utilizations.

In another perspective, creating houses on wider lands also have its own expected influences. First of all, since the density of citizens in this kind of city is lower than high-rise metropolitans, the traffic roads are lessly encountered congestion. Another benefit is that, people in horizontal cities have the opportunity to enjoy more activites which take place on the sky, for instance, flying kites or watching the stars. Last but not least, with vertical space less packed, the air quality index in wider metropolitans is better. Therefore, the community health, especially with lung related diseases, can be enhanced.

In conclusion, I believe that providing higher building to supply accomodations in cities can have some advantageous effects. However, there are also desirabe influences that a city built on a wider land can benefited.