Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

In the context of modern society, to alleviate the CO2 footprint from vehicles, using public transport is increasingly focused on and promoted. While I shed light on that these activities have effective changes in today's status quo, this essay will discuss both sides of this tendency.

On one hand, the merits of no-car days are noticeable for several reasons. One of them is reducing the impact of CO2 emissions on the air, particularly in urban regions. The fact that residents in these areas have a high demand to own their vehicles to travel is one of the key factors leading to air pollution. An example of this is the paradigm of public bicycles in big cities like London or HCM City as a way to encourage residents to use fewer private cars. Additionally, road problems including traffic congestion or road accidents can be tackled through these activities. As a consequence, the life quality of those is likely to be improved and abstained from issues relating to the respiratory system, especially for the youngster.

On the other hand, forbidding any other means of transport to travel these days has appeared several limitations. First and foremost, it may create an inconvenience for both employees and employers in businesses or companies, in the case of workers whose residential area is far from business one. Because there is a fixed time in railway and bus stations, workmen cannot be self-controlled in commuting time. Therefore, it is not worth wasting a large amount of time in order to wait for public transport.

In conclusion, in spite of the drawback of no-car days triggering, I believe that this activity can be a superior supporter for fundamental changes on the number of CO2 released and even global warming.